Feeling sick

Some of you may know that I have Crohn’s disease- an intestinal disorder in which my body attacks my own intestines as if they were a foreign body.  Most of the time I can go about my life without giving it too much thought, however the tummy monster reared its ugly head again this weekend.

Wow, what a soul killer. It’s like having gas pains, diarrhea, and the flu all in one.

I am very thankful for my loving wife.

Before Crohn’s I was a typical young, healthy, athletic male. Heck, I’m lucky I even HAD health insurance- not that THAT’s been a trouble-free area of my life.

If I wasn’t for universal health care before (I was), I CERTAINLY am now.

We’re all in this together, people. It’s our duty to support one another.

Don’t kid yourself. It may be your fault. It may not. But at some point, something is gonna happen to your health. It’s going to be expensive. It’s going to ruin your life. It might ruin the lives of those around you. It doesn’t have to be that way. Let’s let the sick be sick instead of sick AND impoverished.

4 Responses to “Feeling sick”

  1. UUBri Says:

    I agree…it’s hard enough for the sick to be sick. Having to fight with insurance companies and/or go into debt just in order to receive medical care is such an awful thing to add to the equation. Universal health care is definitely the way to go!

    …Oh, and I also agree about the loving wife comment. She must be lovely. 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Aaron’s wife

  2. robin Says:

    my sister, aka aaron’s wife is totally lame for that last comment. well…the second part anyway. i totally agree about the universal health care thing.

  3. robin Says:

    p.s. but now the conversation of where that money will come from needs to take place. raise taxes? fair tax? free tax? no more war and use that money? better government planning of tax dollars?

    i also want to know about what would actually be provided by a universal health care system. would it be mitt romney’s “universal” health care? because while what his state is doing is a good start, it’s not truly universal health care. so we’ve got to talk about what services would actually be provided and to whom.

  4. Aaron Sawyer Says:

    Every other civilized country has figured out a way to do this. I’m assuming it will mean higher taxes, but without having insurance company profits in the middle, and having all Americans pay through a justified tax system, costs will go down for Americans on the whole while coverage goes up. For Americans to ask where the money for this is seems like a put on. We’re the richest country in the world. Much poorer countries have afforded this. It might cost the rich man his third Bentley or the helicopter pad on his yacht, but the majority should be willing to pay that price.

Leave a Reply

